Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Advertise with us

All-District 9-4A Division I: Carthage's Ingram picked MVP

From Staff Reports
Jan. 11, 2018 at 7:15 p.m.

Carthage's Keaontay Ingram looks for running room during the State Championshiop game Friday, December 22, 2017, at AT&T Stadium in Arlington.

Keaontay Ingram, who put together his second straight 2,000-yard rushing season and helped lead Carthage to its second state championship in a row, was named Most Valuable Player with the release of the District 9-4A Division I All-District Football Team.

Carthage teammates Mykel Gates and Ahmad Brown shared defensive MVP honors, while Henderson quarterback Trae Hall was named the league's offensive MVP.

Offensive Newcomer of the Year honors went to Chapel Hill quarterback Khalen Griffin, and Kilgore defensive lineman Deundre Blanton was the league's top defensive newcomer.

Scott Surratt, who led Carthage to its sixth state title during his 11 seasons at the school, was named Coach of the Year.

Voting was conducted by the district's coaches.


Quarterback: Gunner Capps, Carthage

Running back: Briant Mumphrey, Kilgore; Jeremiah Davis, Palestine

Fullback: Daniel Sifford, Kilgore; Saul Quintanilla, Henderson; T.J. Dever, Palestine

Tight End: Miguel Ruiz, Henderson; Callahan Baldree, Carthage

Receiver: Jonathan Shepard, Kilgore; Dee Bowens, Carthage; De'Waylon Ingram, Carthage; Robbie Williams, Chapel Hill; Jaterious Evans, Center; Caleb Medford, Henderson

Line: Austin Adams, Kilgore; McKinnon White, Kilgore; Nate Brittenham, Carthage; Jesse Wayne Pierce, Carthage; Keith Nonette, Palestine; Deoundre Hatton, Palestine; Clayton Conrad, Henderson

Kicker: Elivan Torres, Kilgore


Line: Tyriek Mumphrey, Kilgore; Felipe Ponce, Carthage; De'Braylon Garrett, Henderson; Dejuan Ealy, Palestine

End: Demorrea Richardson, Kilgore; Garrett Lybrand, Henderson; Montario Wilson, Carthage; Quinton Owens, Carthage

Inside linebacker: Sebastian Mumphrey, Kilgore; Nesba Brown, Kilgore; Brady Odom, Henderson; Roderick Deyon, Palestine

Outside linebacker: Damien Parker, Kilgore; Tyrek Blanton, Henderson; Jose Dejulian, Carthage

Safety: Mekhi Colbert, Carthage; Cole Whitlock, Carthage; Treylun Blanton, Henderson

Cornerback: Ashton Hicks, Carthage; Kameron Hamilton, Palestine; Montel Hood, Chapel Hill

Punter: Elian Torres, Kilgore

Returner: Mekhi Colbert, Carthage


Quarterback: Patrick Jackson, Kilgore

Running back: Javorie Hamilton, Kilgore; Tucker Smith, Carthage; Marques Hall, Center; Lynn Freeney, Henderson

Fullback: Ravon Ingram, Carthage

Tight End: Bucky Duke, Kilgore

Receiver: Deiontrae Wheat, Kilgore; Robert Gipson, Palestine; Caden Lafontaine, Palestine; Kaleb Parks, Center; Quinzarius Daniel, Chapel Hhill

Line: Brayden Grush, Kilgore; Kevion Booty, Carthage; Callum Barber, Carthage; J.T. Romero, Carthage; Cayle Irvin, Center; Jonathan Fox, Palestine; Christian Kind, Henderson

Kicker: Axel Romero, Henderson


Line: Darrian Ingram, Carthage; Miguel Ruiz, Henderson; Marquis Massenburg, Chapel Hill

End: Octavian McKee, Kilgore; Nomar Villegas, Palestine; Logan Holloway, Center

Inside linebacker: Keshawn Nonette, Palestine; Cayle Irvin, Center; Adrian Berry, Chapel Hill

Outside linebacker: Josh Williams, Palestine; Brody Mullican, Bullard; Jake Liker, Center

Safety: Quintin Cook, Palestine; Landry Lasseter, Bullard; Kameron Elmer, Center; Jaterious Evans, Center

Cornerback: Ke'untaye Dunham, Henderson; Robert Gipson, Palestine; JaCorey Ware, Carthage; Marques Hall, Center

Punter: Tyler Gray, Palestine; Will McCowin, Bullard

Returner: Quintin Cook, Palestine; Jaterious Evans, Center


Carthage: Mekhi Colbert; Kilgore: Isaiah Smith; Henderson: Keshoyn Alexander; Bullard: Will McCowin; Center: Jake Liker; Chapel Hill: Hunter Branin; Palestine: Tyler Gray


Kilgore: Patrick Jackson; Carthage: Alberto Sigala; Bullard: Colton Bowman; Center: Cayden Sparks; Chapel Hill: Javier Estrada; Henderson: Jamarcus Jacobs; Palestine: Edgar Ayala



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia