Sunday, February 25, 2018

Advertise with us

Pine Tree's Gary honored as Player of Year in District 16-5A

From Staff Reports
March 18, 2017 at 10:55 p.m.

Pine Tree's Marissa Gary drives to the basket during Tuesday's January 10, 2017 game against Hallsville. (Les Hassell/News-Journal Photo)

Pine Tree's Marissa Gary was named Player of the Year, while Hallsille's Maddison Ford garnered Newcomer of the Year honors in voting for the District 16-5A All-District Basketball Team for 2016-17.

Other superlative honors went to Sulphur Springs' Kaylee Jefferson (Offensive MVP) and Autumn Tanton (Defensive MVP).

Sulphur Springs' Jeff Chapman was named Coach of the Year.

The teams were voted on by the district's coaches.


Sulphur Springs: SoDavia Porter and Tori Moore; Texas High: Antonia Porter; Mount Pleasant: Sakaria Grant, Shakyra Hutchings and Jordan Dickerson; Greenville: Brittani Gilstrap; Hallsville: Addison McDermott and Brooklyn Taylor; Pine Tree: Jordan Fuller; Marshall: Lajaccie Tuck.


Sulphur Springs: Daieyshia Pruitt and Sheretta Hill; Pine Tree: Trynitee Washington and Amreenique Williams; Texas High: Mia Wilson, Vicki Willis and Unique McBride; Greenville: Amauri Barrett; Marshall: Courtnee Shead; Hallsville: Hannah Brown.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia