Friday, February 23, 2018

Advertise with us

Former Lobo Howard lands third preseason honor of the week

By Jack Stallard , Jack Stallard
July 13, 2017 at 7:48 p.m.

Former Longview Lobo football standout Travin Howard picked up his third preseason honor of the week on Thursday when he was named to the 2017 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List.

The award, along with the Bednarik Award, will be presented to the nation's top defender following the 2017 season. Howard was named to the Bednarik Award Watch List on Monday, and on Wednesday he was named to the Big 12 Conference's Preseason All-Big 12 Team.

Howard started all 13 games for TCU in 2016, finishing with 130 tackles, three tackles for loss, 1.5 sacks, an interception and two fumble recoveries en route to earning first team All-Big 12 honors. He reached double digits in tackles eight times, with a career high of 19 stops coming against Texas Tech.

As a sophomore, Howard played in all 13 games — starting 11 — and finished with 105 tackles, eight tackles for loss and an interception. He finished the season on a high note, recording 13 tackles and a sack to be named Defensive MVP of the Valero Alamo Bowl.

Howard finished with 89 tackles, eight interceptions, 10 tackles for loss and a blocked punt as a senior at Longview High School in 2013, and saw playing time in all 13 games as a freshman at TCU in 2014.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from those five finalists. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association's full membership, selects a 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski Trophy finalists. Committee members, by individual ballot, select the winner they regard as the best defensive player in college football.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet, presented by ACN, will be held on Mon., Dec. 4 at the Charlotte Convention Center.

Semifinalists for the Bednarik Award will be announced Oct. 30, while the three finalists for the award will be unveiled Nov. 20.

The winner of the 2017 Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 7, with the formal presentation of the award made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Tropicana Hotel & Casino Atlantic City on March 9, 2018.

(Follow Jack Stallard on Twitter: @lnjsports).



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia