Friday, February 23, 2018

Advertise with us

ET Baseball: Area players honored on TSWA all-state team

By Jack Stallard , Jack Stallard
Aug. 5, 2017 at 9:51 p.m.

Marshall's Cam Haller, New Diana's Tristan Swain and Jacob Burton and Beckville's Ethan Harris were double honorees on Saturday, heading up a large contingent of area players named to the Collin Street Bakery/Texas Sports Writers Association 2017 All-State Baseball Team.

Haller was a first team designated hitter and third team catcher on the Class 5A squad. Swain was a first team pitcher and honorable mention shortstop in Class 3A, and teammate Burton was a third team pitcher and honorable mention shortstop.

Harris was a third team pitcher and honorable mention outfielder in Class 3A

Voting was conducted by TSWA members based on nominations from media members and coaches from around the state.

Joining Haller (.417, eight home runs, eight doubles, one triple, 24 RBI, 34 runs, 26 walks, 10 hit by pitch, 10-10 stolen bases) and Swain (10-0, 0.81 ERA, 76 strikeouts, 15 walks, 69 innings; .510, two home runs, 10 doubles, four triples, 38 RBI, 37 runs, 19-21 stolen bases) as first team picks were Beckville relief pitcher Trey Lindsay (3-2, 3 saves, 2.90 ERA, 35 strikeouts, 17 walks in 33.1 innings), Hughes Springs outfielder Riley McKinney (.500, home run, 16 doubles, one triple, 25 RBI, 34 runs, 19 stolen bases) and Sabine designated hitter Will Shawn (.487, two home runs, eight doubles, three triples, 26 RBI, 37 runs scored, 21-21 stolen bases) in Class 3A.

Second team selections were Kilgore pitcher Collin Pippen and Gladewater outfielder Keylon Mack in Class 4A and Union Hill third baseman Trevor Tidball in Class A.

Earning third-team honors were catcher Haller of Marshall in 5A, pitchers Harris of Beckville and Burton of New Diana in 3A, outfielder Lane Meshell of New Diana in 3A and Overton teammates Gavin Flanagan (pitcher) and Nick Croteau (outfield) in Class 2A.

Longview's Jake Fidler was an honorable mention pick in Class 6A at third base.

Also earned honorable mention status were Hallsville pitcher Cooper Rawls and teammate Colton Oney (second base) in Class 5A, Kilgore pitcher Javan Smitherman and teammate Deuce Ervin (outfield) in 4A, Beckville pitcher Zeke Collins, Harmony catcher Easton Blackstone, Beckville catcher Ben Bridges, Elysian Fields first baseman Cole Silliman, Beckville second baseman Zach Collins, New Diana's Burton at shortstop, White Oak shortstop Heath Hood, Harmony shortstop J.P. Powers, New Diana's Swain at shortstop, Beckville's Harris in the outfield and White Oak's Dalton Sumrow in the outfield were Class 3A picks, and Union Grove shortstop Tanner Stanley was a Class 2A honorable mention selection.

(Follow Jack Stallard on Twitter: @lnsports).



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia